Don’t Mean a Thing blog tour

Renee tour.png

 

Welcome to the blog tour for Renee Conoulty with her brand new book: DON’T MEAN A THING.

Today I’m sharing an excerpt!

I walked into the room, stood fast in front of the desk, and saluted. “Good morning, Ma’am.”

“Good morning, Macie. Please take a seat.”

My stomach fluttered. It was like being in the principal’s office at school, and I’d done that more than once. I sat.

“Welcome to Darwin. How are you settling in so far?”

“Well, I only got in yesterday, but my room is okay, and the food at the mess is better than at recruits.” I fidgeted with the lowest button on my shirt.

“That’s great. This week you’ll be on admin shift. We’ll run you through orientation, plenty of paperwork, and sign you off on the basic competencies. Next week you’ll join Team B. You’ve just met Jeremy, who will be on your team. I believe you already know one of your other teammates, Rachael. I’ll get Jeremy to introduce you to the rest of the team today.”

I silently groaned. Not on Rachael’s team. My fingers tensed as I twisted the button again, and it came off in my fingers. Shit. I hoped Ma’am didn’t notice.

Ma’am picked up the phone. “Send Jeremy back up.”

I tucked the white button into my fist and waited until I was dismissed.

“Jeremy, you can show Macie around today, and introduce her to the rest of your team.”

I stood. “Thanks, Ma’am. Nice to meet you.”

“Nice to meet you too, Macie. And Macie.” Ma’am pointed towards my stomach. “Get that button fixed.”

The button slipped from my clammy grasp, and I watched it roll across the floor and disappear under her desk. “Yes, Ma’am.”

“Ma’am has a thing about uniform,” Jeremy whispered as he led me back downstairs. “I didn’t notice your button was missing, or I would have told you to fix it before I took you inside.”

“It wasn’t missing then. It broke off while I was in there.”

“Don’t worry. I’ve got a sewing kit in my locker.”

“But I dropped the button up there.”

Jeremy chuckled. “We’ll find you a button somewhere.” We reached the main hangar. “I’ll introduce you to the team. I haven’t seen Rachael yet today, but the rest are here.”

 Find the book here: Amazon US
Leave a Reply

